Dennis Gorecki Wins USP Beal Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service

Rockville, MD, May 25, 2022 – U.S. Pharmacopeia (USP) today announced that Dennis Gorecki, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Pharmacy and former Dean at the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, Canada), has been named the recipient of USP’s Beal Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service.

Three college staff received university awards

Our university community recognizes the outstanding contributions of our 2022 USask Staff and Faculty Awards recipients – individuals who exemplify USask's commitment to be the university the world needs.

MAC iOPS receives CSHP patient care award

The Medication Assessment Centre Interprofessional Opioid Pain Service (MAC iOPS) received the Excellence in Pharmacy Practice – Patient Care Award from the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP). The award was accepted virtually at CSHP’s Together Conference 2022 on Sunday, February 6.

2021 University Staff Excellence Awards Winner: Carrie Verishagen

The University Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff members who have achieved excellence while demonstrating dedication and commitment to the university’s Mission, Vision and Values and support of the University Plan 2025. In 2021, the program gave special recognition to those individuals who made exceptional contributions through the unexpected challenges of the pandemic, enabling the university to succeed through these extraordinary times.

Wilson, Dadachova honoured as Distinguished Researchers

The University of Saskatchewan (USask) is honouring radiopharmacist Dr. Ekaterina Dadachova (PhD) and Indigenous educator Dr. Alex Wilson (EdD)—both internationally recognized for their groundbreaking research and scholarship—as Distinguished Researchers for 2020.

Saskatchewan video series receives award

“Solid Organ Transplantation – a Miniseries for Patients” received the Excellence in Pharmacy Practice – Leadership Award as part of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists National Awards & Fellows Recognition Ceremony.

Drug Discovery Developments

A new book edited by Drs. Kishor M. Wasan (PhD) and Ildiko Badea (PhD) highlights a series of drug delivery discoveries by USask researchers.

Dr. Susan Whiting Receives Achievement Award

Dr. Susan Whiting, the leading nutrition expert and authority on vitamin D and calcium, received the Achievement Award at the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation's Santé Awards.

USask part of $2 million investment in new prostate cancer research

A team involving two University of Saskatchewan (Usask) researchers – Kishor Wasan, from the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition and Franco Vizeacoumar from the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency – is one of 10 teams across the country awarded a total of $2 million by Prostate Cancer Canada and Movember to accelerate discoveries that could save and improve men’s lives.

Berenbaum named professor emeritus

Congratulations to Dr. Shawna Berenbaum who has received the honourary title of professor emeritus from the University of Saskatchewan.

New scholarship announced in honour of Dr. Alfred Remillard

The College of Pharmacy and Nutrition is pleased to announce the new Dr. Alfred Remillard Scholarship in Pharmacy Mental Health. The award will recognize academic excellence and research potential of a student in third or fourth year of the pharmacy program in the area of mental health.